• Shortcuts : 'n' next unread feed - 'p' previous unread feed • Styles : 1 2

» Publishers, Monetize your RSS feeds with FeedShow:  More infos  (Show/Hide Ads)


Date: Monday, 20 Apr 2009 03:52

puppylogo96

In this podcast episode, we’re talkin’ some Puppy Linux! Just a quick overview of the latest and greatest 4.2 release. This is definitely a distro you’ll want to take a look at!

Ogg Download

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "Distro Reviews, OGG, Podcast"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Monday, 23 Feb 2009 03:42

globe

In this episode, we review desktop note-taking and task managment software Zim Wiki. It’s a nice app, and despite a just a few issues, it might become my primary note-taking application.

OGG Download

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "Notetaking, OGG, Podcast"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Tuesday, 03 Feb 2009 01:46

gnome-do

In this episode, we review GNOME-Do, a really cool, smart application launcher in the vein of Quicksilver for Mac and Launch for Windows. The many plugins available allow for some innovative productivity enhancements.

OGG Download

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "Keyboard Love, OGG, Podcast"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Wednesday, 17 Dec 2008 04:28


Yeah, it’s been forever since we’ve put out a show…but here’s a new one! We review the much hyped T-Mobile G1, the so called “Google Phone.” Turns out it’s a fantastic device that’s still has a couple flaws.

This one’s long, largely unedited, and I recorded it totally off-the-cuff. Make sure to leave me a comment and tell me what you think!


OGG Download

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "OGG, Podcast, android, g1, google, t-mob..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Monday, 13 Oct 2008 21:20


In this episode, we talk about the Ontario Linux Fest, as well as some simple strategies for creating a productive directory structure and easy-to-use file names.

Thanks for downloading!


Ogg Download

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "Advocacy, OGG, Podcast"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Saturday, 04 Oct 2008 23:33

In this episode, we briefly talk about the awesomeness that is Glipper.

Glipper Hompage

Thanks for downloading!


OGG Download

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "OGG, Podcast, Text Editing"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Thursday, 18 Sep 2008 20:05

In this episode, we discuss checking Exchange email with FetchExc, and play some listener feedback.

FetchExc Hompage
FetchExc w/Kmail Tutorial - Highly recommended, this is what I did and it worked!

Thanks for downloading!


OGG Dowload

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "CLI Fun, Crossplatform Computing, Email,..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Tuesday, 19 Aug 2008 02:45

In this episode of The ProductiveLinux Podcast, we talk about a couple cool ways to integrate RTM (the online todo list manager) with your desktop. Then, we highlight just a few of my favorite apps to use at the command line. Here’s all the links you’ll need to explore everything:

  • The RTM Deskbar Module
  • Tasque, a GNOME frontend for RTM, Google Video of Tasque in action (says currently unavailable :( )
  • HNB, the command line outliner
  • Vim, the classic editor
  • Nano, an easy to use editor for the Linux terminal
  • Links, a fantastic text-mode web browser
  • Wget, the super-powerful download manager

Thanks for downloading!


OGG Dowload

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "CLI Fun, List Management, OGG, Podcast"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Friday, 11 Jul 2008 01:58

In Episode 14 of The ProductiveLinux Podcast, we talk a bit about HNB, a curses outline manager. Naturally lightweight, HNB boasts features that put itbeyond a simple outliner and into the realm of basic personal information management.

Did you like this week’s podcast, or was it completely useless? Leave a comment and let me know!

OGG Dowload

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "List Management, OGG, Podcast"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Thursday, 05 Jun 2008 19:05

In Episode 13 (our longest episode ever!) we talk about the latest release from the dedicated Puppy Linux team. It rocks, and actually has some great personal productivity software installed!

Did you like this week’s podcast, or was it completely useless? Leave a comment and let me know!

OGG Dowload

Author: "nathan@productivelinux.com (Nathan R. Hale)" Tags: "App Releases, OGG, Podcast"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Friday, 16 May 2008 14:17

That’s right, we haven’t dropped off the face the earth yet! In Episode 12 we talk briefly about Hardy Heron (it’s great release, but not a whole lot of new), and also walk through the fantastic desktop backup app Simple Backup Suite. It’s a quick and dirty one this week, folks!

Did you like this week’s podcast, or was it completely useless? Leave a comment and let me know!

OGG Dowload

Attached Media: application/ogg (16 106 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "App Releases, OGG, Podcast, Linux,produc..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Monday, 21 Apr 2008 04:32

Absolute Linux

In this week’s podcast, we review Absolute Linux, a really cool project that may need to change few things to become a real productivity help. Plus, we talk about the solution to crazy file system problem in Ubuntu, and we discuss many reasons why Gedit and Vim are both awesome editors…how to combine the two?

Did you like this week’s podcast, or was it completely useless? Leave a comment and let me know!

OGG Dowload

Attached Media: application/ogg (36 940 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "OGG, Podcast, Text Editing, Linux,produc..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Monday, 24 Mar 2008 00:26

We’re in the double digits! This week’s podcast is about setting Gmail as your default mail client at both the desktop environment and browser levels. We focus on using Firefox to access Gmail, but these ideas could be extended to other browser! If you’re a Gmail user, this could be really useful.

OGG Download

Attached Media: application/ogg (17 215 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "Email, OGG, Podcast, Linux,productivity"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Sunday, 09 Mar 2008 19:21

This week we’re talking about SimpleTask, a set of scripts that makes adding tasks to a text-based todo list easy.

OGG Download

Attached Media: application/ogg (9 769 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "Software Releases, Tutorial, Text Editin..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Saturday, 23 Feb 2008 23:49

Snippits is a text expander application, like Texter for Windows or TextExpander for Mac. In true Linux fashion, you’ll have to do a bit of command line work to get this in-development program installed, but the payoff is way worth it.

OGG Download

Attached Media: application/ogg (11 925 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "Tutorial, Text Editing, Podcast, Ogg, Li..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Sunday, 10 Feb 2008 19:49

gLabels

In this episode, we highlight the gLabels application and share some our experiences working with it. Post Podcast Thought: This would also work VERY well as a killer business card designer.

OGG Download

Attached Media: application/ogg (8 614 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "OGG, Podcast, Linux,productivity"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Sunday, 27 Jan 2008 06:46

This bite-sized episode offers a quick look at the Gimmie panel applet for GNOME. Is it revolutionary? (Post-podcast thought: it might be more so if it had keyboard shortcuts.)

OGG Download

Attached Media: application/ogg (10 472 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "GNOME, OGG, Podcast, Linux,productivity"
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Wednesday, 19 Dec 2007 16:35

In this episode, we discuss the Asus’ new ultramobile offering: the EEE PC. Is it usable, and does it allow for increased productivity? You better believe it.


Full-sized laptop with CDFull-sized laptop with the EEE PCFull-sized laptop, EEE PC, and CD for comparison

Ogg Download

Attached Media: application/ogg (11 536 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "Hardware, OGG, Podcast, Linux,productivi..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Tuesday, 04 Dec 2007 05:47

In this episode: the Nokia 810 Internet Tablet reviewed…is it a good productivity device? Well, I guess that depends on what you need to be productive.


Ogg Download

Attached Media: application/ogg (20 755 ko)
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "Reviews, Hardware, Podcast, Ogg, Linux D..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
Date: Sunday, 11 Nov 2007 19:39
Author: "Nathan R. Hale (nathan@productivelinux.com)" Tags: "Reviews, Firefox, Podcast, Ogg, Linux,pr..."
Comments Send by mail Print  Save  Delicious 
» You can also retrieve older items : Read
» © All content and copyrights belong to their respective authors.«
» © FeedShow - Online RSS Feeds Reader